How to get a DAZ|Studio scene into Carrara. Skin effects

User avatar
VitalBodies
Technician
Technician
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:48 am
Contact:

How to get a DAZ|Studio scene into Carrara.

Post by VitalBodies » Wed Feb 20, 2008 7:41 pm

Carrara capabilities are far beyond DAZ|Studio, but I wonder would be it interesting that we study how to get a DAZ|Studio scene (say a character) into Carrara and to render it nicely?
This is what I am currently attempting.

Would be fun if other were trying also...

It is actually interesting to try.
I thought I would try to create the exact same scene and lighting in C6 and I had accomplished in DS 1.8.

I figured this would be a great learning tool and give me a side by side comparison of the two programs as they would be rendering the scene.

There are some differences for sure.
Like a camera that is 430CM away form V4 might need a 250mm lens to frame the shot in DS where in C6 might require a 175mm.

And in C6 we don't have Lakeworks fine skin presets....

User avatar
Lakys
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5191
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 3:30 am
Contact:

Re: How to get a DAZ|Studio scene into Carrara.

Post by Lakys » Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:06 pm

VitalBodies wrote:I figured this would be a great learning tool and give me a side by side comparison of the two programs as they would be rendering the scene.
Well, I am unsure they can be compared, but why not.
There are some differences for sure.
Like a camera that is 430CM away form V4 might need a 250mm lens to frame the shot in DS where in C6 might require a 175mm.
It could come from the fact DAZ|Studio camera focale are based on a 135mm film format (I think), where Carrara is probably a function of the aspect ratio.
And in C6 we don't have Lakeworks fine skin presets....
Could be fixed easily. :)

For people interested, please find a common good product (for V4) we all own. Would be better to pick one with bump maps.
Then we shall make it a case study. ;)

User avatar
VitalBodies
Technician
Technician
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:48 am
Contact:

Post by VitalBodies » Wed Feb 20, 2008 9:50 pm

V4's hi-res that come with the V4 pro pack is one we all might have.

My vote would be for something without make-up, tattoos and such to have a clear natural base to work from. Additionally I would vote for photo-realistic for the same reasons.

The skin tutorial I read by theSea suggested maps that include a SSS map. theSea also suggested ones without burned in highlights.

Here are some nice one for photo-realistic skin that I found.
VICTORIA 4.2:

* CHARACTER AND MAPS:
o GIRL NEXT DOOR 2: (ActuallyV3)
http://www.renderosity.com/mod/bcs/inde ... mage=41537
o MASK EDIT:
+ MERCHANTS KIT: http://market.renderosity.com/mod/bcs/i ... duct=58694
+ PURE SKINS: http://market.renderosity.com/mod/bcs/i ... r=MaskEdit
+ PURE SKINS #3: http://market.renderosity.com/mod/bcs/i ... r=MaskEdit
o SUICIDEGIRLZ:
+ MILA: (tattoos are optional and do not have to be used) http://www.renderosity.com/mod/bcs/inde ... dor=331253

o MINT MERCHANTS KIT:
+ MERCHANTS KIT: http://www.runtimedna.com/mod/bcs/index ... Image=5705
+ MERCHANTS KIT 2ND ADDITION: http://www.runtimedna.com/mod/bcs/index ... pID=163266
o Alpha II -- Merchant Resource Kit for V4: http://www.daz3d.com/i.x/shop/itemdetai ... &spmeta=ab

Some are better than others and there may be many I have not seen.
All of your thoughts, links, insights are welcome...
Comments from all are welcome...

User avatar
Lakys
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5191
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 3:30 am
Contact:

Post by Lakys » Thu Feb 21, 2008 6:20 am

Well the goal is not forcefully to enlist products we have not tried (yet).
Looking at the promo pictures, I am unsure that all of them are worth the purchase. It is hard to judge the quality without having better renders made with them (or knowing the artist).

I am also unsure that everybody have V4 Hi-Res textures. I have them though.

User avatar
VitalBodies
Technician
Technician
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:48 am
Contact:

Post by VitalBodies » Thu Feb 21, 2008 7:26 am

Well the goal is not forcefully to enlist products we have not tried (yet).
Definitely.
Since I have no way to know what you all have, I suggested what I have (the DAZ hi-res maps) and I few I do not, but maps that are highly favored by people trying to achieve photo realistic skin.

Actually, I am not even sure who everyone is?

I am open though...

User avatar
Lakys
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5191
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 3:30 am
Contact:

Post by Lakys » Thu Feb 21, 2008 10:34 am

VitalBodies wrote:Definitely.
Since I have no way to know what you all have, I suggested what I have (the DAZ hi-res maps) and I few I do not, but maps that are highly favored by people trying to achieve photo realistic skin.
Well, I am not a big fan of those textures, but I can give a new try with them.
I have many products purchased at DAZ, a few at Renderosity and one or two from RDNA.

For V4, I can propose Rachel, GW5 Female, Vanessa and probably a dozen more I don't have directly in mind.

Otherwise, we can start seeking a quality freebie texture set.
Actually, I am not even sure who everyone is?
People who will join and be interested. Maybe YourSunshineGirl? I don't know.
I am open though...
So am I. :D

User avatar
VitalBodies
Technician
Technician
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:48 am
Contact:

Post by VitalBodies » Thu Feb 21, 2008 4:56 pm

Do you know if Rachel, GW5 Female, Vanessa have SSS maps?
What is your favorite for Photo-real?
Can GW5 be done with or without makeup?
Any guess what GW5 stands for?

User avatar
Lakys
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5191
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 3:30 am
Contact:

Post by Lakys » Thu Feb 21, 2008 5:16 pm

VitalBodies wrote:Do you know if Rachel, GW5 Female, Vanessa have SSS maps?
No they have not.
SSS maps are not forcefully required to get good skin effect. I guess it is better to make them on demand. Working with SSS can be done in many different ways with various parameters. I guess it would require 3 or 4 types of maps to handle SSS as it should.

I still have to look into Carrara to see what kind of SSS is implemented there.
What is your favorite for Photo-real?
I don't know. I could never find a product which could satisfy me fully.
Can GW5 be done with or without makeup?
yes they are two face maps.
Any guess what GW5 stands for?
Still no idea. Sorry :roll:

User avatar
VitalBodies
Technician
Technician
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:48 am
Contact:

Post by VitalBodies » Thu Feb 21, 2008 5:28 pm

How do you like GW5 compared to the DAZ hi-rez that come with the pro-pack?

User avatar
Lakys
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5191
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 3:30 am
Contact:

Post by Lakys » Thu Feb 21, 2008 5:36 pm

VitalBodies wrote:How do you like GW5 compared to the DAZ hi-rez that come with the pro-pack?
I would say that textures are good without being fantastic or even amazing.
The product is not really complete: no preset for DAZ|Studio using specular maps. There is a mistake in the eye texture which prevents to get the same cornea reflection than the promo picture.

The best is that you judge by yourself by watching a few renders made with it.

User avatar
VitalBodies
Technician
Technician
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:48 am
Contact:

Getting Daz figure into Carrara...

Post by VitalBodies » Thu Feb 21, 2008 5:51 pm

First Steps:
From what I have learned so far one needs to open a new scene to the correct scale. Daz Studio uses Centimeters so that would be the smallest scene offered in Carrara 6. Using centimeters (CM) allows one to make use of the same settings in Carrara 6 (C6) as Daz Studio (DS). Like how many CM the camera is from the subject or how many CM a light is.

I then went to VIEW > GRID > and reset my grid size to
200CM x 200CM x 200CM and made the center 0CM, 0CM, 100CM.
I made my grid spacing 1CM and draw a line every 1CM but you can choose what works for you.

That put the grid starting at her feet and 18CM taller than she is.

Why not use the middle size scene? The middle size scene is meters and only allows two decimal places. So if you want to place something 111.77 CM along one axis it will convert what you did to 1.12 M which is not exactly the same. particularly in close-up work.

For me, to open my DAZ scene in C6 did not work all that well so I am going to try to use Transposer this round and see how that goes. Opening my DAZ scene did not work that well as it altered all my lights and cameras. I am new though but others have said not to expect much from the DAZ scene import.

PS:
There is a set of free skin shaders here but I have not tried them yet:
http://www.sharecg.com/v/17754/material ... ers-for-C6

User avatar
VitalBodies
Technician
Technician
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:48 am
Contact:

Post by VitalBodies » Thu Feb 21, 2008 10:15 pm

It could come from the fact DAZ|Studio camera focale are based on a 135mm film format (I think), where Carrara is probably a function of the aspect ratio.
Can the camera focale/aspect ratio be changed in C6?
I have looked for it but not found out how yet.

User avatar
Lakys
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5191
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 3:30 am
Contact:

Post by Lakys » Thu Feb 21, 2008 10:57 pm

VitalBodies wrote:Can the camera focale/aspect ratio be changed in C6?
I have looked for it but not found out how yet.
Yes for both.

On the camera you can change the zoom. I think I was wrong, it is indicated as 50, 100mm which corresponds to the 135mm film standard (just like DAZ|Studio).
The aspect ratio can be adjusted in the Render > Output > Image Size settings.

User avatar
VitalBodies
Technician
Technician
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:48 am
Contact:

Distance to near plane

Post by VitalBodies » Thu Feb 21, 2008 11:32 pm

CAMERA:
What is "Distance to near plane"?
and...
How does one get the cameras in C6 to match DS 1.8?
Where a camera placed say, 430CM from the subject and 168cm high using a 250mm lens to frame the shot "just so" DS. What does one do to match that in C6?

If I position the camera the same I have to use a 175mm (or so) instead of a 250mm?
I know I could just change the lens to 175mm but I would like to get 250mm to be the same in both programs. I am using a conical camera in C6.

Could not find "Distance to near plane" in the manual thus I asked.
I read the manual and liked it but like I said, it left me with a few questions.
My best guess is that "Distance to near plane" is distance to the nearest surface? Or is it really aspect ratio?

In 3d Studio Max one could change camera from a film movie camera to a 35mm camera to many others. Thus create a match to a real world camera and or situation.
Thus a 150mm lens setting on a 35mm camera does what you would expect it to. A 150mm lens on a 70mm camera does something different.
Can the camera focale/aspect ratio be changed in C6?
I have looked for it but not found out how yet.

I have the output size in both programs the same 1920 x 1080.

User avatar
Lakys
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5191
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 3:30 am
Contact:

Re: Distance to near plane

Post by Lakys » Fri Feb 22, 2008 12:07 am

VitalBodies wrote:CAMERA:
What is "Distance to near plane"?
and...
How does one get the cameras in C6 to match DS 1.8?
I think they work the same way.

If I position the camera the same I have to use a 175mm (or so) instead of a 250mm?
I know I could just change the lens to 175mm but I would like to get 250mm to be the same in both programs. I am using a conical camera in C6.
Could not find "Distance to near plane" in the manual thus I asked.
I read the manual and liked it but like I said, it left me with a few questions.
My best guess is that "Distance to near plane" is distance to the nearest surface? Or is it really aspect ratio?
I don't know, I don't have even opened the manual ever.
In 3d Studio Max one could change camera from a film movie camera to a 35mm camera to many others. Thus create a match to a real world camera and or situation.
Thus a 150mm lens setting on a 35mm camera does what you would expect it to. A 150mm lens on a 70mm camera does something different.
Can the camera focale/aspect ratio be changed in C6?
I have looked for it but not found out how yet.
As I explained in my previous post. They assume that it is a 135 (24x36mm) film ratio (3/2).

I played with the shaders. It is not hard at all. Lot of surface settings are lost during the export/import from Studio, about the same that Studio.

I tweaked a little settings to get what I wanted. But I am disapointed by the lack of options. For instance, shininess should be set to 0 to get something equivalent to 50/60 glossiness. No way to get less then?
SSS looks interesting. But I still don't understand all.

Well here are a render where I adjusted the skinface surface. Lighting is basic (2 distant lights). Sorry for the poor hair and the rest.
Attachments
Doc6.bmp
First test
Doc6.bmp (900.05 KiB) Viewed 1693 times

Post Reply

Return to “Carrara”