SubD Tutorial: Improve signifiantly haircut geometries

Various informations and discussions about DAZ Studio
User avatar
Lakys
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 3:30 am
Contact:

SubD Tutorial: Improve signifiantly haircut geometries

Post by Lakys » Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:38 am

Well, we have all seen this polygonal effects on some popular hair.
That's not the artist fault, they just try to keep the number of polygons low to make it usable and not heavy to load and to render.
Attachments
SubD-Step1.jpg
not looking that good... huh?
SubD-Step1.jpg (44.96 KiB) Viewed 487 times

gingercakes47
Confirmed
Confirmed
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 8:17 pm

Post by gingercakes47 » Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:44 am

Not looking good and seems I've seen that sort of thing before.

User avatar
Lakys
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 3:30 am
Contact:

Improve things with SubDivision

Post by Lakys » Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:51 am

1- Select the hair in the scene browser
2- Go to Menu Edit > Convert to SubD
3- Press Yes when you are asked whether you want to continue
4- In the parameters, play with the Viewport level slider to see the effect of SubD. Choose the same amount for render or more.

You are done you can render your hair.

User avatar
Lakys
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 3:30 am
Contact:

Result with Render Level at 1

Post by Lakys » Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:52 am

Level = 1

Already much better! :)
Attachments
SubD-Div1.jpg
SubD-Div1.jpg (48.51 KiB) Viewed 476 times

User avatar
Lakys
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 3:30 am
Contact:

Render Level at 2

Post by Lakys » Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:54 am

Render Level = 2

perfect?
Attachments
SubD-Div2.jpg
SubD-Div2.jpg (48.55 KiB) Viewed 484 times

User avatar
Lakys
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 3:30 am
Contact:

Post by Lakys » Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:56 am

gingercakes47 wrote:Not looking good and seems I've seen that sort of thing before.
Indeed and that's precisely why we want to not see this anymore.
But thanks to DAZ|Studio, that thing will tend to disapear from our renders. :wink:

So even old hair might look fanstastic (providing that the textures were good enough).

User avatar
VitalBodies
Technician
Technician
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:48 am
Contact:

Very nice very simple, very do-able...

Post by VitalBodies » Tue Mar 04, 2008 3:04 am

Very nice, very simple and very do-able...

You make this a DAZ tutorial and submit it if you have not already.

And thank you also!

User avatar
Lakys
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 3:30 am
Contact:

Post by Lakys » Tue Mar 04, 2008 3:12 am

VitalBodies wrote:Very nice, very simple and very do-able...
You should collect your $25 for this!

You make this a tutorial and submit it if you have not already.
I could... but I have not submitted it and I won't. :P
Well I am glad to have original and unique content on this site.

Other reason is that I am not sure you can keep up to date your tutorials once they have been submitted. And as I like also to be able to improve my work, fix my typos and phrasing, I prefer it that way. :wink:

gingercakes47
Confirmed
Confirmed
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 8:17 pm

Post by gingercakes47 » Tue Mar 04, 2008 10:30 pm

Thank you so much, I will try this useful tip. :)

drdancm
Apprentice
Apprentice
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:36 am

Re: Render Level at 2

Post by drdancm » Fri Mar 07, 2008 8:20 am

Lakys wrote:Render Level = 2

perfect?
Thanks for explaining how to do this.

Dan

drdancm
Apprentice
Apprentice
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:36 am

Re: Render Level at 2

Post by drdancm » Sun Mar 23, 2008 4:55 am

Am I correct that the SubD only works with objects that are specially designed for SubD, therefore it will not be helpful for older stuff?


Thanks,

Dan

User avatar
weimart
Future Engineer
Future Engineer
Posts: 866
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 2:17 pm

Post by weimart » Sun Mar 23, 2008 3:42 pm

I think you are mistaking Sub-D(sub division) with LOD (level of detail).
You can use sub-D with any mesh though there are things like the new dragon that are designed to optimize it's use.
LOD will require specially prepared meshes, basically various .obj each with a lower and lower poly count. So far only V4 was released with LOD capability.

User avatar
Lakys
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 3:30 am
Contact:

Post by Lakys » Sun Mar 23, 2008 6:32 pm

Indeed, the hair used in this tutorial is for sure not intended to use SubD.

BoulderSean
Apprentice
Apprentice
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 3:29 am

Post by BoulderSean » Fri May 23, 2008 5:45 am

using a primitive torus:
major diameter: 1
minor diamter: 30
segments: 12
sides: 6

the below render is none, 1, 2, 3:
Attachments
torus_subD.jpg
Increasing count of Sub D from none to 3

User avatar
Bison Ravi
Technician
Technician
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 7:02 am
Contact:

Post by Bison Ravi » Fri May 23, 2008 7:25 am

weimart wrote:So far only V4 was released with LOD capability.
Now, there is also the DAZ Millenium Subdragon (the name is explicit: sub-dragon for sub-division).

Post Reply

Return to “DAZ Studio”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest